Amanda Lobsinger

Amanda has been someone I’ve felt I could turn to when trying to figure out what I’m doing with my life, or just wanting to talk about travel and our next adventures. I met her when she was fresh out of grad school, and she played the role of my boss for two years. She taught me about professionalism, about building relationships with supervisors, and that a relationship can carry on once the roles that brought you together are no longer. I always forget how old she is, because she always has seemed wise, and generally has some pretty good advice to offer.

She has impacted me more than she probably knows, and I’m so glad that in September 2010, when I became an RA, that she was the one that happened to be placed in Mercer. Now, as I’ve stepped into the role that she once held, I can honestly say that I don’t think I would have been able to fill this role, had it not been for her role in shaping the skills I had to bring to the table.  She helped set the tone for how to do this work well and helped advocate for me in various ways.

So thank you. I think we often overlook the ways in which we impact people, and I just wanted you to know that I’m very aware of the impact you’ve left on me.

Leave a Reply

